APC Underwriting

80 Leadenhall Street London EC3A 3DH
APC Underwriting was founded in 1993 and is recognised as being one of the UK market leaders in underwriting SME Commercial & Liability business. We employ highly experienced staff dealing with over 1000 brokers throughout the UK.

Company Staff

Brian Russell
Prior to APC, Brian Russell spent many years marketing personal lines, PA and warranty insurance underwritten within the Lloyd’s market. He then became a freelance insurance broker mainly dealing with the larger commercial risks, placing them within the Lloyd’s and London market. In 1993, he formed APC, and over the years he has built up APC from just 2 to now 38 staff. Along with his main duties, Brian is very much involved with management and the marketing of APC’s business. Brian was also the initiator & founding member and director of the Managing General Agents’ Association, the trade body for UK MGA’s.
Ian Russell
Chief Underwriting Officer
Ian Russell joined the Company in September 1995 after leaving school and began as an administration clerk. He progressed through various areas within APC and now leads the Underwriting Department.
Jonathan Bates
Chief Operating Officer
Jonathan joined APC in August 1994. Throughout his early years he worked his way through various roles and quickly progressed into the underwriting department. From there he showed leadership and managerial skills which resulted in Jonathan being responsible for a team of underwriters and administrators. He has a substantial knowledge of the UK market together with a full understanding of APCs modus operandi. In recent years Jonathan has been integral in the development and progression of the business and was appointed a director in March 2004.
Stephen Wainwright
Chief Financial Officer
Stephen joined APC in August 2001 from previous employment with Capita Insurance Services. He has over 20 years experience as a Company Accountant. His knowledge and expertise is extensive and the Company has seen significant progression since his arrival. In light of this he was appointed as Company Secretary in 2004.